Planning & Zoning Commission


The Planning and Zoning Commission is a locally appointed government board charged with recommending action to the city council on matters regarding the development and form of the community. Those matters include items such as comprehensive planning, zoning district boundaries, zoning code language, and subdivisions. Seven members serve on the Newton Planning and Zoning Commission.


Don Poynter
Term expires 2022
Dana Woody
Term expires 2021
Jane Repp
Term expires 2022

Garfield Berndt III
Term expires 2023
Jeremy Berndt 
Term expires 2024
Josh Cantu
Term expires 2022
Vicki Wade
Term expires 2023

*Planning & Zoning Commission board terms expire on December 31.

Find agendas and minutes from board, commission and committee meetings in the Agenda Center.